Gluten-free cereal: Don’t believe everything that’s on the labels.

Gluten-free cereal: Don't believe everything that's on the labels.

What is gluten?

Looking for a gluten-free cereal? Gluten Is one type of Protein family Found in Rye, barley and wheat. If you’re ignoring those three components, you’re eating a gluten-free food, thus the cereals which doesn’t contains these ingredients can be labeled as Gluten-free cereal.

Unfortunately, numerous population feel uncomfortable after consuming foods that include gluten. The most overwhelming consequence is called celiac disease. (1)

Celiac disease

Celiac disease

Celiac disease is a lifelong and an autoimmune disease in which the human body mistakes gluten as a foreign body. To remove this “foreign body,” our immune system overreacts and attacks the gluten protein. When someone with coeliac disease consumes gluten or gluten-containing product, their immune system responds to gluten by harming the lining and protection of the intestine.

 celiac disease or gluten intolerance can vary from mild to severe and may encompass constipation, anaemia, nausea, bloating, diarrhoea, wind, tiredness, headaches, mouth ulcers, sudden weight loss, hair loss. (2)

Althoughhough more research is needed, several studies also suggest that a gluten-free diet could be beneficial for those with irritable bowel syndrome, a chronic disorder characterized by digestive issues like stomach pain, gas, diarrhoea, and constipation. (3)

The easiest way to avoid gluten is to eat unprocessed, single-ingredient foods. Otherwise, you should read the food labels of most foods you buy.

Now talk about some cereals and ingredients which have gluten-free or not?

Do Potatoes have gluten?

do potatoes have gluten

Potatoes are an adjustable root vegetable and essential sustenance in various household units.

The answer is Nopotatoes are gluten-free. Potatoes are not grains, they are a kind of starchy vegetable.

They are an underground tuber that grows on the roots of the Solanum tuberosum plant. Potatoes are relatively easy to grow, cheap and packed with a variety of nutrients and vitamins.

 When you’re sensitive to gluten or have celiac disease, the good news is you can still consume potatoes in your diet. You can even use them as a replacement for some of the gluten-containing foods you are not able to eat. You simply should be certain that you do not add anything to your potatoes that are off-limits.

The advantage of potatoes is that there are hundreds of varieties to choose from. Some of the most popular include: white, red, sweet, purple, fingerling, russet and all of them are gluten-free.

Though, some potato items (for ex. potatoes au gratin and  French fries  ) may not be gluten-free, depending on how they’re prepared. The further components you add, the larger the danger that potatoes will no longer be safe on the without gluten diet. ( 4)

Is couscous gluten-free?

Couscous

Couscous is a processed grain product made from little balls of durum wheat or semolina flour.  Couscous is a variety of pasta. couscous is also moderately looks like rice. Couscous is somewhat like pale brown in colour and might be confused with short cereal brown rice. There are some varieties of couscous like: Lebanese, Moroccan, Israeli.

Couscous is not gluten-free. That is because couscous made from wheat. Couscous is commonly mistaken for being gluten-free.

Each food product that includes couscous is forbidden to you if you are obeying a gluten-free diet. (5)

Is cheese gluten-free?

Is cheese gluten-freeIs cheese gluten-free

Dairy products, such as 100 percent natural cheese, usually don’t contain gluten. Cheese made out of milk, rennet and bacteria, none of which contains gluten(6)

However, gluten is sometimes added during the manufacturing of some cheeses and cheese products.

some variations of cheese that are usually gluten-free include Cheddar, Swiss, Parmesan, provolone, goat, ricotta, brie, feta.

Plain, full-fat cheeses with no flavourings or additional ingredients are usually gluten-free.

Processed cheese and cheeses labelled as low-fat, fat-free or low salt may have gluten. If cheese contains any type of add-in, such as modified food starch or wheat starch, it may also contain gluten.

It is important to look at the labels of any processed cheese, as well as cheese products. Some include gluten, and others do not.

Reading the label on cheese products and cheese can help to reveal gluten. Gluten is often added as a thickener or stabilizer to cheese products in order to prolong the shelf life or to keep the ingredients from separating.

You should also keep your cheese away from the other people if you share your food with someone who eats gluten.

Indeed, even cheese marked as gluten-free can unintentionally become contaminated by gluten-containing ingredients and food. This type of contamination usually results in very small amounts of gluten, and it’s usually only an issue for those with celiac disease. (7)

Is Soy gluten-free?

Natural Soy is gluten-free. Soy may relate to the soy protein from soybeans or soybeans, both of these ingredients are gluten-free. (8)

Soy is omnipresent in our food supply since it’s an ordinary ingredient in many processed food items.soy is used as an ingredient in foods such as soyabean oil, soy sauce, soy flour, candy bars, soymilk, soy lecithin and as a meat substitute.

 soy sauce which we generally used is not gluten-free. In soy source, wheat is an essential ingredient so that soy sauce does not come in a gluten-free group.

 Soyabean oil is one kind of vegetable oil that is made from soybeans. So that Soybean oil is also coming under gluten-free group.

Soy lecithin, which found in many foods is gluten-free. It is used as an extra ingredient to make food more creamier and also to improve the flavour of that food. Because soy lecithin is so highly purified, it’s probably not going to contain any gluten, regardless of whether the soy used to make it was exceptionally cross-contaminated.

Soy flour is made from soybeans so that it is also coming under gluten-free food groups.

soy milk, which is also a gluten-free product.  various soy milk manufacturers may use preservatives and flavourings products in addition to soy in soy milk so if you have celiac disease you must check the ingredients tag before consuming soy milk.

 

If you have any symptoms after consuming soy, talk to your doctor about a possible soy sensitivity or allergy.soy is a pretty allergenic food—it’s one of the top allergens in the U.S. So there’s no question that you could have a true allergy to soy. (9)

Maybe one reason such a huge number of celiacs and gluten-sensitive population report soy intolerances(false allergies) is because of significant levels of gluten cross-contamination in the soy.

Is mayo gluten-free?

Is mayo gluten-free

If you daily use mayo on your sandwich in your breakfast or use it in your salad you are lucky because mayo is a gluten-free product and you can use it as your gluten-free ingredient.

Mayonnaise is commonly formulated from typically gluten-free ingredients like lemon, eggs, vinegar, oil, mustard and other spices.  (10)

Mayonnaise that has a gluten-free tag has passed thorough testing and are useful to eat for the population who are on a gluten-free diet. If Mayonnaise does not have any gluten-free tag on it, please check carefully all ingredients in it and then purchase.

Also, sharing a mayo bottle at home rises the chance of cross-contact if other family members use the mayo on gluten-containing products. For decrease the chance of cross-contact, use different bottles.

Are lentils gluten-free?

Are lentils gluten-free?

Lentils include beneficial nutrients like fibre, protein, vitamins and minerals. They are low in calories and contain virtually no fat. it is also a very good source of iron.

Lentils are gluten-free. Any individual needs to eat a completely gluten-free product can be sure that lentils like red, green and brown all are OK to consume, regardless of this reality you must check ingredients tag for a gluten-free security. (11)

Despite the reality that lentils are an excellent addition to a gluten-free diet, lentils are also frequently used to eliminate dietary and nutritional crisis in person who follows a gluten-free diet.

Lentils are not grains they are legumes.so they do not commonly contain gluten in it. Nonetheless, lentils might be filtered in facilities in which wheat and other gluten-containing cereals are also filtered, which means there is a chance of cross-contamination. For those who are strictly following a gluten-free diet and who have celiac disease must check the lentils package for the gluten-free tag line. Lentils are an outstanding improvement to any diet.

According to the Mayo Clinic, those have celiac disease and can’t eat gluten are vulnerable to consuming too insufficient fibre, vitamins and other nutrients. When you added lentils in your diet it helps to eradicate this problem because lentils are a good source of many nutrients like minerals, fibres, amino acids and vitamins.

Is pepperoni gluten-free?

Pepperoni is made from beef and pork flavoured with red chilli pepper in it. It is smoky, red and smooth. pepperoni is a very famous pizza topping World Wide.

 

Pepperoni is normally gluten-free because ingredients used in pepperoni are gluten-free. (12)

Foods to Eat in gluten-free diet : (15)

If You have celiac disease or gluten-sensitive, don’t bother there are many foods you can eat even when you are in a gluten-free diet.

  • Fruits and vegetables.
  • Animal proteins like Beef, chicken, milk, pork,  curd, butter, eggs, milk, meat, seafood, and turkey.
  • Gluten-free cereals like rice, quinoa, buckwheat, millet, corn, teff, sorghum and Amaranth.
  • Oils like coconut oil, Avocado oil,  olive oil, solid fats, and butter.
  • Herbs are also gluten-free.
  • Legumes like chickpeas, peanuts,  lentils, beans, soy, lupins and mesquite.
  • Nuts and seeds like chia,  almonds, flaxseed, cashews, hazelnut walnuts, pepitas, pistachios pine nuts and pecans.
  • flours and Starches like chickpea flour, almond flour,  Potatoes, corn, soy flour,  and tapioca flour, coconut flour.

Foods to Avoid in a gluten-free diet:

When you have celiac disease or gluten-sensitive, you should avoid this type of food.

  • Food products that contain gluten include the following cereals: Dinkel, wheat, Emmer, Farro, Einkorn, Graham, semolina, spelt, wheat bran, Rye, Barley, Farina.
  • All bread which contains wheat, baked food products like muffins, cookies, pizza, cakes and pastries.
  • Snack food products like flavoured chips, candy, roasted nuts,  popcorn and crackers.
  • Sauce like hoisin sauce, teriyaki sauce,  salad dressings, marinades,  soy sauce.
  • Alcoholic beverages also contain gluten.

Risks of a gluten-free diet:

In spite of having many health advantages, gluten-free food can have some drawbacks.

  • Gluten is found naturally in many nutritious foods, including whole grains like wheat, barley, and rye.
  • Meanwhile, some prepared, gluten-free food items are not enriched with minerals and vitamins. As such, following a gluten-free diet that lacks diversity could increase the risk of deficiencies in folate, riboflavin, niacin, and iron (13)
  • Gluten-free diets also tend to be lower in fibre, which plays an important role in digestive health and regularity.
  • Constipation is predominant side effects in individuals who have on a gluten-free diet. If you suffering from constipation when you are on a gluten-free diet you should eat more fibre-containing vegetables and fruits like lentils, sprouts, berries and broccoli.
  • Gluten-Free foods and products are more expensive than normal products.
  • Therefore, it’s essential to ensure that you’re getting these important nutrients from other sources as part of a healthy, gluten-free diet to help reduce the risk of side effects.
  • The gluten-free diet has benefits but it also has many side-effects.so you would not require to obey gluten-free diet when you do not have any gluten sensitivity or celiac disease.

Helpful tips :

There are numerous useful advice that can benefit you to follow your gluten-free diet successfully.

You have to Purchase a gluten-free cookbooks.It helps you to be more creative for cooking your gluten free food.

Read food labels everytime when you buy any food products so that you easily recognize gluten free food and products.

If you use same utensils for cooking and cleaning with your family members there is chances of cross contamination .so you should use separate equipment and utensils.

When you are travelling and out of town make sure that you research restaurant and places when you get gluten free food

Bottom line:

Accomplishment with a gluten-free diet comes down to double-checking ingredient tags, as gluten is frequently added to foods that you would not predict. Foods that contain gluten will be labelled as such.

Nevertheless, if you concentrate on consuming mainly fresh, whole, gluten-free diets and the least quantity of processed foods, you will have no trouble fulfilling a gluten-free diet.

Always read labels carefully and choose products that are labelled gluten-free, as those are required to contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten(14)

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Leave a Reply